Lee Hyori Explains The Plagiarism On Her Latest Album

Earlier, news broke out that many of Lee Hyori’s songs from her album H-Logic were plagiarized. Fans were disappointed, and they began to dislike Hyori a great deal… Well I did, but don’t worry about it I’m still a huge fan. After all the accusations, Hyori’s management, M-Net Media explained what was really going on.

No one really heard anything about the plagiarism from Hyori herself, but now she’s finally come out and she’s finally explaining the reasons behind it all.

M-Net said that the her producer Bahnus wrote all the songs. Lee Hyori wrote on her fan cafe about what this has done to her promotions and what really went down.

It looks like it’s been a while since I wrote an entry here.
After the release of my 4th album, many interrogations rose,
it was frustrating for me and you must have been worrying about them at some point.
I’ve been thinking to myself whether I should tell you all of it or not.
There were things to take into consideration.
Time has passed… it took me some time to talk to you.
It must have been frustrating for you as well, I’m truly sorry about that…

When I was making the album, in the beginning, I received songs
from Bahnus. When we released it, plagiarism issues were raised, there was something wrong.
I, too, believed everything he told me, there was no way we could know.
The company first received the songs from him, under his name, and
we didn’t suspect anything.
But we kept moving forward, and suspicion rose again; artists saying that he wasn’t the original composer of the songs, that he stole them and claimed they were theirs.
Finding the original writers of the songs was hard and it took time to make sure what we heard was the truth. We investigated more about him and we found out that the songs were not his.
We know for sure that 2 songs out of the 6 songs that we recorded are not his, we already contacted the original composers.
Regarding the remaining songs, we couldn’t find the original creators but the company is still looking into it and will take care of the matter.
We will do what we have to to put that behind us. We will take moral responsibility.

I wanted to release the album as soon as possible but it took me a long time to make it.
I wanted to promote it for a long time, but until these issues are solved, I won’t be able to keep promoting.
The problems will need a long time to be solved.
These matters take time to be put behind.
It’s unfortunate but it appears that it will be impossible for me
to continue on with album activities.
I’m truly sorry for you who expected more from me and waited (for the comeback).

I’ve always been passionate when recording songs for my albums, although I went through a lot and experienced headaches.
My heart aches because I couldn’t present to you something perfect. I’ve been constantly blaming myself.
But instead of being helpless, I feel that it is my responsibility to step up and take care of this. It’s my responsibility to handle all of this.

For putting you through this hard time with me, I apologize once again to all of you.
I want to always show the best of me.
I’ll be working even harder to show the best of me.
I will show you more, the best.

Source: Lee Hyori Official Cafe
Translations: Hyoleesubs (Yoojin @Hyoleesubs)

Well this explains a lot. Now everyone can calm down about all this. Lee Hyori is an amazing artist and you shouldn’t blame her.

One thought on “Lee Hyori Explains The Plagiarism On Her Latest Album

  1. Pingback: Lee Hyori To Have Tracks Removed From H-Logic? « Asianluvs

Leave a Reply

